The Traveller’s Rest- “Go Away and Dream it all up Again.”

Lovetown.

During a Lovetown Tour show at the Point Depot, Dublin, Ireland, back on 30 December, 1989 during ‘Love Rescue Me’, Bono made a speech that created a real rattle and hum. He simply said ‘we’ve had a lot of fun… but we now have to go away and dream it all up again.’ This created that tension of excitement but also fear from the bands legion of fans that they may never hear from their band again, that this was the breaking up speech. This was nothing new for U2, after just two albums there was the the first show of tension that nearly split them as they battled between walking the world of music and the world of faith, but this time were they going out on a high after the amazing Joshua Tree album and the Rattle and Hum movie and album and massive tour that followed? Had the group run it’s course. There is over twenty five years of history since that point but it is a point that will always be referred to. A point of recognition that creativity needed to be rediscovered, a point of drawing a line ready to move forward, a time of solace to ponder, dream, envision, end, begin. That is the point I have come to with the blogging. For four and a half years, once a week, I have poured out my soul and heart with words and ideas and out loud thinking. It has cost me, boy has it cost me. Many who were part of the story would no longer wish to be in the same book never mind on the same page. But for those who have left the book there have been others that have joined the story. It is not about being on the same page but about being part of a fresh unwritten adventure together. I have made some friends who are now considered close, close friends. Some I have had the pleasure to meet, others remain virtual connections, of which I hold equal importance. What holds us together is story. A sense that we need to go away and dream it all up again. Dismantle to mantle. No longer accepted the BS that has been pumped at us for many years, but prepared to stand in the crap and hope, hold on, dream, believe. So after about 216 blogs I am going away for a while to dream it all up again. Where to go from here? Who knows? When will it return and in what format? It will reappear at some point in 2015, and I trust with a greater sense of creativity and journey, but maybe never again in the present format. When U2 reappeared they returned with Achtung Baby that is considered by many as their most radical, experimental, raw, on the edge albums. A dangerous album that skirted with so much more from the world around them. Their biggest ever tour followed that was outrageous and widescreen and included MacPhisto and rumours of loss of faith and selling the soul to the enemy. But they dreamed up something that would shake many for years to come. My return will not be so bombastic, but I trust as creative, raw and on the edge.

An End Has a Start.

Someone hit the light
‘Cause there’s more here to be seen
When you caught my eye
I saw everywhere I’d been
And wanna go to

You came on your own
That’s how you’ll leave
With hope in your hands
And air to breathe

I won’t disappoint you
As you fall apart
Some things should be simple
Even an end has a start (Editors)

An end is always a beginning. It is always a matter of perspective. Looking from where you come from it is an end. A finishing point. Much of the journey up to this point has been about ends. There is nothing wrong with that because you cannot begin without an end. Yet we must appreciate the end is in a way an illusion because there is still a way to go. Those who stop at the place of looking back will end up becoming nothing more than salt cellars. They become the disappointments. Now this may need to be a dwelling place for a while, and may always be a spot to return to, but to become obsessive about where we have come from stops living. There is a starting point. What for? I do not know. Where to? Have not got a clue. All I do know is that I want to live the days I have in front of me looking forward to them and not waking up in them because I had no choice. That is why I am going to dream it all up again.

Our Place in the Stars.

Seen the movie Interstellar this week. An incredible film so full of the Divine. A must see movie for those with ears to hear and eyes to see. It is big, grandiose, widescreen, full of space and outer worlds, technology and big talk. But with all this the key to the movie is simply love. Love not of the sexual nature but love, real love. I want to close this chapter with a quote from the film that helped to affirm my going away for a while to dream it all up again. But before then it just leaves me to say see you on the other side, It has been a lot of fun. Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and see you in 2015 in some shape and form. Be loved, be love.

Cooper: We’ve always defined ourselves by the ability to overcome the impossible. And we count these moments. These moments when we dare to aim higher, to break barriers, to reach for the stars, to make the unknown known. We count these moments as our proudest achievements. But we lost all that. Or perhaps we’ve just forgotten that we are still pioneers. And we’ve barely begun. And that our greatest accomplishments cannot be behind us, because our destiny lies above us.

15 thoughts on “The Traveller’s Rest- “Go Away and Dream it all up Again.”

  1. John Matthews

    Here’s to re-invention, re-definition and continued transformation. I wish you well on the next phase of your journey Paul and may God grant you a huge dose of courage for whatever is next. I look forward to connecting again on the other side and leave you with the thought that perhaps that “side” is part of something that is multi-dimensional and has many sides.

    Reply
  2. Geoff Reed

    Hi Paul just read your blog, I know we will catch up sometime, but I do look forward to whatever you hear and see in the next phase of this exciting journey. Bless you mate!

    Reply
    1. pleader05 Post author

      Hi Geoff. We will catch up over the Christmas period I am sure. If anything has come out of this time it has been our amazing friendship and connection. Thank you. This will not be the end but an exciting breather into the next step. Look forward to walking more with you in the days ahead. Love you and Lynne so much. Speak to you soon my friend x.

      Reply
  3. Jonathan

    Dear Paul
    Many times I have meant to write to tell you how resonant your words are with my own experience and thinking. It is the most opportune time to do this now. I guess none of us will know how profound an influence we have been on others until we have eternity to chat about it at leisure. Anyhow, your words have been spirit and life to me and so thank you so much for laying bare your heart even though it has been hard to do. I have so appreciated it and read your musings weekly for the last 4 years and shared the link with friends. To me it has always seemed like a good dose of common-sense, free from the trappings of christianese that myself and so many others have spoken throughout our journeys. Although I have never met you I feel a kindred spirit and that I know you, so I wish you much peace and happiness in your next chapter.
    with love and appreciation
    Jonathan

    Reply
    1. pleader05 Post author

      Hi Jonathan, thank you for taking time to write. So glad that the words of these blogs have resonated with you. Responses like this have made the laying bare so worth while. Great to find kindred spirits in such a journey. I am sure a connection will remain. This is not a disappearance forever but more a pause for breath. See you on the other side when I breathe out again. Much blessing to you and again thank you for such kind words, Paul.

      Reply
  4. alanjamesrees

    It would be dishonest to say that I have always agreed with you, or even shared your understanding..mine is a differing journey, I guess. But I have always appreciated your candour and grace….look forward to re-connecting in 2015…and maybe we will meet face to face next year…we are due a trip to the S Wales coast…bless you!

    Reply
    1. pleader05 Post author

      Alan I am glad you do not always agree with me. That would make a dull world. Our journeys have found connecting points and that is what matters more than anything. So appreciate your honesty, your humour and your holiday in South Wales next year. If that happens would be great to catch a drink/food together, and chew that cud. Bless you too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

