The Traveller’s Rest- Voices in My Head.

Mind His Business.

Have been thinking much lately about the voice of God. Having walked in that realm where I believed strongly in the prophetic voice of God I have been given specific words for individuals, churches, regions and nations. I declared about an earthquake hitting Cardiff that would rock the foundations of the castle, that happened, it was revealed to me about some guy that was having an affair in the church at Tonyrefail, I am often reminded of things spoken years ago that were apparently ‘spot on’. Revelation, proclamation, declaration, the voice was often heard. In fact there was a time I kept a prophetic journal and would be quite upset if I went for a few days without hearing anything. I am not doubting the power of the words heard or proclaimed, but what was that all about? Have to admit I have not heard much in this way for years, but is that because I am not listening or because I have discovered something different about the voice in my head? Do I still believe in a God that speaks through audible voices? Or have I discovered something closer to home where I do not have to go sifting through the myriad of voices that grasp for my attention? Who or what has control of my mind? Is my mind under the control of something or someone outside of me, a scary thought, or is my mind infinitely more divine than I appreciate? The voice in there, is it mine, the devils, a God from outside of me, or is it the real me I need to rediscover? Whose voice am I hearing when I hear God’s voice?  “But we understand these things, for we have the mind of Christ.” This is not some new age philosophy, that is 1 Corinthians 2:16. The voice in my head may very well be the divine me communicating.

Is Anyone Out There or In There?

One question I asked recently was when you hear God/The Divine, whose voice do you hear? God has always spoke to me in my voice, my accent, my words. The voice I hear in my head has the same accent, the same vocabulary, the same sense of humour. He communicates through images and words I relate to and understand. What if the voice is just me? What if I was/am making it up from within myself? Would that make any difference? Does it give it any less weight if it helps, comforts, encourages, brings light? Our minds, our thoughts, the images inside our brains are more ours than we appreciate. Giving the name of God to it may inadvertently give extra weight but I believe we also shift the responsibility and the blame elsewhere if we mess up. But hey how much mess has been made with a God said? It would all be so much easier to sweep up and clean up if we just took responsibility for what we heard or saw. Then we would not have to feel guilty if the person shovelled out a bowl full of crap we could just ignore it. If it blessed our inner man then great, receive and recognise with thankfulness the incredible divinity within the human mind. The pressure to always be guided by the outer voice will be gone. Trust the inner voice, be ruled by the peace of following it or ignoring it. So many sitting waiting for God to lead them, speak to them, show them the way. Let the inner voice lead, speak, show you. Trust what you hear. If it all falls tits up then at least you went somewhere, unlike so many others. I think most of us would be surprised where we will actually find ourselves if we just follow the voice.

 We have the chance to turn the pages over
We can write what we want to write
We gotta make ends meet, before we get much older

We’re all someone’s daughter
We’re all someone’s son
How long can we look at each other
Down the barrel of a gun?

You’re the voice, try and understand it
Make a noise and make it clear
Oh-wo-wo-wo, oh-wo-wo-wo
We’re not gonna sit in silence
We’re not gonna live with fear
Oh-wo-wo-wo, oh-wo-wo-wo

This time, we know we all can stand together
With the power to be powerful
Believing we can make it better (John Farnham You’re the Voice)

2 thoughts on “The Traveller’s Rest- Voices in My Head.

  1. mervyn

    Good stuff ,always remember someone telling me you can only steer a ship when its moving so launch out even if we are wrong 99% of the time its worth it for the 1% we get right ! thanks for sharing …

    Reply
  2. Geoff Reed

    Interesting Paul when you really examine the motive for a word from God, is it for us to glory in or as you said just wanting to bless, so we get it wrong sometimes does it matter. Love your continual ability to face things in the cool light of Him. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

